Shoop selected as Broyles Award finalist

The Broyles Award winner will be announced on Tuesday, December 4, at the Marriott Hotel in Little Rock.

Posted: Nov 26, 2018 6:10 PM

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (WTVA/MSU Athletics) – Bob Shoop, Mississippi State's defensive coordinator and safeties coach, was named one of five finalists for the Broyles Award on Monday by the Frank and Barbara Broyles Foundation. The award is given annually to the nation's top assistant coach and was created in 1996 recognizing Coach Frank Broyles' legacy of selecting and developing great assistants during his almost two decades as head coach at Arkansas.

The other finalists are Alabama offensive coordinator Michael Locksley, Army defensive coordinator Jay Bateman, Clemson co-offensive coordinator Jeff Scott and Notre Dame offensive coordinator Chip Long.

"I am very appreciative of the opportunity that Head Coach Joe Moorhead, Director of Athletics John Cohen and Mississippi State have given me," Shoop said. "I also want to thank the Frank and Barbara Broyles Foundation for being part of such a prestigious honor. Coach Moorhead has created an amazing culture here at Mississippi State. It is a privilege to work with such a tremendous staff and great players. Anytime you are a coach of the year finalist, it's a direct reflection of the staff and players coming together for a common goal. The players in that locker room bought in to our vision. It's truly a team effort, and I am very thankful to be a part of the Mississippi State family."

Shoop is the Bulldogs' second ever Broyles Award finalist, joining former defensive coordinator and linebackers coach Joe Lee Dunn (1999).

“I am proud of Bob, our staff and our players for finishing the regular season as the nation’s No. 1 scoring defense,” Moorhead said. “That is a product of hard work, attention to detail and selflessness. Bob is as outstanding a person as he is a coach. He is as deserving as any coach for the Broyles Award, and we are glad he is a part of the Bulldog family.”

The Broyles Award winner will be announced on Tuesday, December 4, at the Marriott Hotel in Little Rock.

In his first year at MSU, Shoop directed arguably the best defensive unit in college football during the 2018 regular season. His unit finished ranked No. 1 in the FBS in scoring defense (12.0), fewest touchdowns allowed (12), yards per play allowed (4.14), pass efficiency defense (97.26), red-zone touchdown percentage (25.0) and fewest 50+ yard plays allowed (0).

Shoop's squad is the only defense in the nation to rank inside the top 10 in the FBS in scoring defense (1st – 12.0), rushing defense (10th – 104.25), passing defense (6th – 164.2) and total defense (3rd – 268.4).

Article Comments

73° wxIcon
Hi: 82° Lo: 61°
Feels Like: 73°
70° wxIcon
Hi: 79° Lo: 65°
Feels Like: 70°
Broken Clouds
70° wxIcon
Hi: 80° Lo: 57°
Feels Like: 70°
64° wxIcon
Hi: 74° Lo: 62°
Feels Like: 64°
WTVA Radar
WTVA Temperatures
WTVA Severe Weather