Moorhead finalizes 2019 MSU football coaching staff roles

MSU begins spring practice on Tuesday, March 5.

Posted: Feb 18, 2019 6:10 PM

STARKVILLE, Miss. (WTVA/MSU Athletics) – With the start of spring practice two weeks away, second-year Mississippi State head coach Joe Moorhead has finalized his on-field coaching staff roles for the 2019 season, it was announced Monday.

Moorhead’s 10 assistants feature a combined 150-plus years of full-time experience, in the college and/or NFL ranks. The following make up the 10 assistants:


· Tony Hughes, Associate Head Coach/Tight Ends (eighth year)

· Terry Richardson, Assistant Head Coach/Run Game Coordinator/Running Backs (first year)

· Deke Adams, Defensive Line (first year)

· Andrew Breiner, Pass Game Coordinator/Quarterbacks (second year)

· Terrell Buckley, Cornerbacks (fourth year)

· Marcus Johnson, Offensive Line (second year)

· Michael Johnson, Wide Receivers (first year)

· Joey Jones, Special Teams Coordinator (second year)

· Tem Lukabu, Linebackers (second year)

· Bob Shoop, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties (second year)

Moorhead, the 2016 and 2017 National Offensive Coordinator of the Year, will once again serve as the offensive playcaller. Shoop, the coordinator of the nation’s No. 1 defense in 2018, returns after becoming MSU’s first Broyles Award finalist since 1999. Shoop was tabbed National Defensive Coordinator of the Year by Football Scoop last fall after his unit led the nation in eight different categories.

Four of Moorhead’s assistants have also served as head coaches in their careers, including Breiner, Shoop, Jones and Hughes, who rejoined the staff in December after a two-plus-year stint at Jackson State. In his seven previous seasons in Starkville, Hughes signed some of the greatest players in Bulldog history, including NFL All-Pros Fletcher Cox, Darius Slay, Benardrick McKinney and Chris Jones.

Moorhead’s group is coming off a second-straight top 25 signing class led by five-star offensive tackle prospect Charles Cross. Cross, who is the highest-rated offensive lineman signee in school history, is one of five players who enrolled early at Mississippi State in January.

In 2018, Moorhead became the first Bulldog head coach to win eight or more games in his debut season since Allyn McKeen in 1939. The squad reached the Outback Bowl and finished ranked No. 25 in the Coaches poll. A total of 41 letterwinners return from that team led by All-SEC defenders Erroll Thompson and Cameron Dantzler, as well as running back Kylin Hill and offensive lineman Darryl Williams.

State begins spring practice on Tuesday, March 5, and it culminates with the Maroon and White Spring Game on Saturday, April 13 in Davis Wade Stadium. Kickoff is 1 p.m. and admission is free.

Article Comments

Few Clouds
66° wxIcon
Hi: 77° Lo: 56°
Feels Like: 66°
65° wxIcon
Hi: 80° Lo: 57°
Feels Like: 65°
Few Clouds
61° wxIcon
Hi: 73° Lo: 52°
Feels Like: 61°
63° wxIcon
Hi: 76° Lo: 54°
Feels Like: 63°
WTVA Radar
WTVA Temperatures
WTVA Severe Weather