MUW women's basketball receives bid to national tournament

MUW is 18-6 this season.

Posted: Feb. 26, 2019 4:22 PM
Updated: Feb. 26, 2019 4:22 PM

COLUMBUS, Miss. (WTVA/MUW Athletics) – The Mississippi University For Women basketball team was selected to participate in the United States Athletic Association (USCAA) Women's Division I Basketball Tournament on Tuesday.

The Owls (18-6) were seeded No. 2 overall and will play 7th seeded Carlow University (9-21) in the first round Thursday, March 7 in Penn State Fayette Main Arena. The game will be streamed at basketball.theuscaa.com and will tip-off at 2 p.m. ET/ 1 p.m. CT.

Carlow is ranked second in the USCAA in three-pointers made and in three-point percentage on the season. The team is led offensively by junior guard Delaney Daly. She averages 11.7 points per game and is second among Celtics in three-point field goals.

In its first season in 15 years, The W will make its first appearance in the USCAA tournament. Junior forward Qiayon Bailey leads the Owls offense averaging 15.0 points per game and 7.0 rebounds per game. Junior center Keyahna Jones has tallied nine double-doubles this season and leads the team in rebounds. She averages 8.5 points per game and 10.2 rebounds.

The winner of the Owls/Carlow game will advance to face the winner of the No. 3 seed Paul Quinn vs. No. 6 seed Florida College game which will tip-off at 10 a.m. ET/ 9 a.m. CT.

Article Comments

Tupelo
Clear
82° wxIcon
Hi: 90° Lo: 69°
Feels Like: 84°
Columbus
Clear
82° wxIcon
Hi: 90° Lo: 68°
Feels Like: 85°
Oxford
Few Clouds
79° wxIcon
Hi: 88° Lo: 69°
Feels Like: 82°
Starkville
Clear
79° wxIcon
Hi: 89° Lo: 66°
Feels Like: 81°
WTVA Radar
WTVA Temperatures
WTVA Severe Weather