MSU kicker Jace Christmann named Football Writers Association freshman All-American

Christmann led all SEC freshman in field goal percentage in 2017.

Posted: Jan. 8, 2018 6:15 PM

ATLANTA (WTVA/MSU Athletics) - After leading all Southeastern Conference freshmen in field goal percentage, Mississippi State place kicker Jace Christmann was named to the 2017 Football Writers Association of America Freshman All-American Team, the organization announced prior to Monday’s College Football Playoff National Championship.

The SEC placed five players on the 30-man team, second only to the Big Ten’s six selections. The Pac-12 followed with four, while the ACC, Mountain West Conference and Conference USA each had three selections. A 13-person panel of nationally-prominent college football writers representing each of the FBS conference along with independents selected the team.

For the second consecutive season, MSU has placed a Bulldog on the FWAA Freshman All-American Team, which was established in 2001. Linebacker Leo Lewis earned the program’s first honor following the 2016 season.

Taking over MSU’s placekicking responsibilities against No.11 LSU on Sept. 16, Christmann connected on 27-yard, 30-yard and 45-yard field goals against the Tigers, becoming the first Bulldog since Devon Bell against South Alabama on Sept. 22, 2013, to kick three field goals in a single game.

The redshirt freshman closed the season 12-of-14 for an 85.7 field goal percentage, which ranked tied for third in the SEC. The field goal percentage was the highest by a Bulldog since Evan Sobiesk went 12-of-14 (85.7 percent) over the 2014 season. The Houston, Texas, native was also a perfect 42-of-42 in PAT attempts, which ranked fifth in MSU single-season history.

For more information on the Bulldogs, follow the MSU football team on Twitter, like them on Facebook and join them on Instagram by searching for "HailStateFB." All-access coverage is also available on SnapChat by searching for "HailStateSnap."

2017 Freshman All-American Team


QB Jake Fromm, Georgia

RB Spencer Brown, UAB

RB AJ Dillon, Boston College

RB Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin

WR Justin Hall, Ball State

WR McLane Mannix, Nevada

WR JD Spielman, Nebraska

TE Matt Bushman, BTU

OT Alaric Jackson, Iowa

OT Andrew Thomas, Georgia

G Navaughn Donaldson, Miami

G Try Smith, Tennessee

C Tyler Biadasz, Wisconsin


DE Curtis Weaver, Boise State

DE Kylan Wilborn, Arizona

DT Ross Blacklock, TCU

DT Jordan Scott, Oregon

LB Racheem Boothe, Southern Miss

LB Paddy Fisher, Northwestern

LB Kenneth Murray, Oklahoma

LB Colin Schooler, Arizona

DB T.J. Carter, Memphis

DB Chase Lucas, Arizona State

DB Amik Robertson, Louisiana Tech

DB Tariq Thompson, San Diego State

DB Andraez “Greedy” Williams, LSU


P Pressley Harvin III, Georgia Tech

K Jace Christmann, Mississippi State

KR Marcus Jones, Troy

PR Donovan Peoples-Jones, Michigan

Head Coach

Lincoln Riley, Oklahoma

Article Comments

52° wxIcon
Hi: 69° Lo: 49°
Feels Like: 52°
55° wxIcon
Hi: 68° Lo: 51°
Feels Like: 55°
Broken Clouds
48° wxIcon
Hi: 68° Lo: 47°
Feels Like: 46°
54° wxIcon
Hi: 64° Lo: 49°
Feels Like: 54°
WTVA Radar
WTVA Temperatures
WTVA Severe Weather