Javon Patterson named to Wuerffel Trophy watch list

This marks the second-straight season Patterson has been selected to the Wuerffel watch list.

Posted: Jul 26, 2018 10:17 PM

FORT WALTON BEACH, Fla. (WTVA/Ole Miss Athletics) - Ole Miss senior offensive lineman Javon Patterson has been named to the 2018 Wuerffel Trophy watch list, the award committee announced Thursday.

The Wuerffel Trophy, known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service,” is presented annually by the All Sports Association in Fort Walton Beach, Florida. Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel from the University of Florida, the Wuerffel Trophy is awarded to the FBS player that best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.

Patterson, a two-time member of the Wuerffel Trophy watch list, has mentored children with the Marks Project and Reading with the Rebels programs, as well as assisted with flood relief in Baton Rouge and South Carolina. The senior from Petal, Mississippi, has helped local families with meals at holiday time, visited patients in hospitals, and volunteered with a blood drive and a “Caps for Kids” program. He has also been a member of the NCAA Division I Football Recruiting Ad Hoc Working Group, as well as the SEC Community Service Team.

On the field, Patterson has been a valuable starter in the interior of the offensive line all three seasons at Ole Miss. He has appeared in every game since arriving on campus, including 24 straight starts dating back to the 2016 season. Patterson has been part of an Ole Miss offense that has lead the SEC in passing yards the last two seasons.

Ole Miss’ Deterrian Shackelford won the 2014 Wuerffel Trophy.

Nominations for the Wuerffel Trophy are made by the respective universities' Sports Information Department and will close on October 12. A current list of nominees can be found at www.wuerffeltrophy.org beginning on August 1. Semifinalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 1 and finalists will be announced on Nov. 19.

The formal announcement of the 2018 recipient will be made at the National Football Foundation's press conference in New York City on December 4. The presentation of the 2018 Wuerffel Trophy will occur at the 50th All Sports Association Awards Banquet on Feb. 15, 2019 in Fort Walton Beach.

Ole Miss will open the 2018 season vs. Texas Tech in the AdvoCare Texas Kickoff, in Houston, on Sept. 1. Kick is slated for 11 a.m. and will be televised on ESPN.

Article Comments

63° wxIcon
Hi: 66° Lo: 36°
Feels Like: 63°
64° wxIcon
Hi: 64° Lo: 34°
Feels Like: 64°
55° wxIcon
Hi: 58° Lo: 33°
Feels Like: 55°
63° wxIcon
Hi: 65° Lo: 34°
Feels Like: 63°
WTVA Radar
WTVA Temperatures
WTVA Severe Weather