BREAKING NEWS Sinkhole causes landslide, Lee County road to collapse Full Story

Five Rebels voted preseason All-SEC by league coaches

Brown, Little, Patterson, Metcalf, Woods earn conference accolades.

Posted: Aug 23, 2018 1:04 PM

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (WTVA/Ole Miss Athletics) - The Ole Miss football team landed five Rebels on the preseason All-Southeastern Conference team voted on by the 14 league head coaches, the league office announced Thursday morning.

This marks the fifth time in the last six years that Ole Miss has had at least five Rebels named All-SEC headed into the season.

Juniors A.J. Brown and Greg Little led the way for Ole Miss, earning first team honors, while Javon Patterson, D.K. Metcalf and Zedrick Woods all were named to the third team.

Brown, a preseason first team All-American and 2017 All-SEC selection, led the SEC and finished 10th nationally with a program-best 1,252 receiving yards in 2017. Brown also lead the SEC in receiving touchdowns (11), receiving yards per game (104.3) and receptions per game (6.3). This offseason, Brown has already been named to watch lists for the Maxwell, Biletnikoff and Walter Camp Awards. He is rated the No. 1 wide receiver in the country by USA Today and Athlon.

Little, a junior from Allen, Texas, has appeared in every game at left tackle since arriving in Oxford two years ago. Little earned preseason All-America first team honors from the Sporting News and The Athletic, as well as second team accolades from Lindy's, Athlon and Phil Steele.

Patterson leads a veteran group of Ole Miss offensive linemen with 36 games played, including 30 career starts. He was a member of the 2017 SEC Football Student-Athlete Leadership Council and the SEC Community Service team. Throughout the 2017 campaign, both Patterson and Little helped protect the Ole Miss quarterbacks that led the SEC and ranked 11th nationally in passing as a unit (328.4 ypg).

Metcalf, a sophomore from Oxford, Mississippi, tallied 39 catches for 646 yards and seven touchdowns on his way to earning SEC All-Freshman honors last season. Woods started 11 games for the Rebels in 2017 during his junior campaign, tallying a career-best 64 tackles, as well as four pass breakups and four deflections.

Ole Miss will open the 2018 season vs. Texas Tech in the AdvoCare Texas Kickoff, in Houston, on Sept. 1. Kick is slated for 11 a.m. and will be televised on ESPN.




TE - Albert Okwuegbunam, Missouri

OL - Jonah Williams, Alabama; Greg Little, Ole Miss; Martez Ivey, Florida; Trey Smith, Tennessee

C - Ross Pierschbacher, Alabama

WR - A.J. Brown, Ole Miss; Deebo Samuel, South Carolina

QB - Drew Lock, Missouri

RB - Damien Harris, Alabama; Benny Snell, Kentucky

AP - Deebo Samuel, South Carolina


DL - Raekwon Davis, Alabama; Cece Jefferson, Florida; Jeffery Simmons, Mississippi State; Montez Sweat, Mississippi State

LB - Devin White, LSU; Mack Wilson, Alabama; Josh Allen, Kentucky

DB - Deandre Baker, Georgia; Greedy Williams, LSU; Mike Edwards, Kentucky; Chauncey Gardner-Johnson, Florida*; J.R. Reed, Georgia*

Special Teams

PK - Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia

P - Corey Fatony, Missouri

RS - Deebo Samuel, South Carolina



TE - Isaac Nauta, Georgia

OL - Hjalte Froholdt, Arkansas; Andrew Thomas, Georgia; Garrett Brumfield, LSU; Lester Cotton, Alabama

C - Lamont Gaillard, Georgia

WR - Ryan Davis, Auburn; Terry Godwin, Georgia

QB - Jarrett Stidham, Auburn

RB - Trayveon Williams, Texas A&M; D’Andre Swift, Georgia

AP - Trevon Diggs, Alabama


DL - Terry Beckner, Missouri; Derrick Brown, Auburn; Jonathan Ledbetter, Georgia; Isaiah Buggs, Alabama

LB - Deshaun Davis, Auburn; Anfernee Jennings, Alabama; D’Andre Walker, Georgia

DB - Jamel Dean, Auburn; CJ Henderson, Florida; Deionte Thompson, Alabama; Mark McLaurin, Mississippi State

Special Teams

PK - Daniel LaCamera, Texas A&M

P - Joseph Charlton, South Carolina

RS - Mecole Hardman, Georgia



TE - C.J. Conrad, Kentucky

OL - Zack Bailey, South Carolina; Darryl Williams, Mississippi State; Marquel Harrell, Auburn; Deion Calhoun, Mississippi State*; Brian Wallace, Arkansas*; Javon Patterson, Ole Miss*

C - Erik McCoy, Texas A&M

WR - Emanuel Hall, Missouri; D.K. Metcalf, Ole Miss

QB - Jake Fromm, Georgia

RB - Aeris Williams, Mississippi State; Jordan Scarlett, Florida

AP - Lynn Bowden, Kentucky


DL - Rashard Lawrence, LSU; Marlon Davidson, Auburn; Landis Durham, Texas A&M; Dontavius Russell, Auburn

LB - De'Jon Harris, Arkansas; Charles Wright, Vanderbilt*; David Reese, Florida*; Leo Lewis, Mississippi State*

DB - Grant Delpit, LSU; Javaris Davis, Auburn; Marco Wilson, Florida Jamal Peters, Mississippi State*; Zedrick Woods, Ole Miss*; Santos Ramirez, Arkansas*; LaDarius Wiley, Vanderbilt*; DeMarkus Acy, Missouri*

Special Teams

PK - Tucker McCann, Missouri

P - Braden Mann, Texas A&M

RS - Lynn Bowden, Kentucky*; De'Vion Warren, Arkansas*

Article Comments

28° wxIcon
Hi: 44° Lo: 26°
Feels Like: 28°
27° wxIcon
Hi: 47° Lo: 26°
Feels Like: 27°
23° wxIcon
Hi: 43° Lo: 24°
Feels Like: 23°
28° wxIcon
Hi: 42° Lo: 25°
Feels Like: 28°
WTVA Radar
WTVA Temperatures
WTVA Severe Weather