Five Bulldogs named Preseason All-SEC by league coaches

State opens the 2019 season on Aug. 31 against Louisiana in New Orleans.

Posted: Aug 15, 2019 1:53 PM

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (WTVA/MSU Athletics) – Five Mississippi State Bulldogs were recognized as members of the 2019 Preseason Coaches All-SEC Team on Thursday.

MSU’s selections were highlighted by defensive team captain Erroll Thompson, who earned first-team honors. Below is the complete list of Bulldogs named to the preseason team.

LB Erroll Thompson (First-Team Defense)
C Darryl Williams (Second-Team Offense)
CB Cameron Dantzler (Second-Team Defense)
RB Kylin Hill (Third-Team Offense)
DE Chauncey Rivers (Third-Team Defense)

A smart, instinctive and hard-hitting linebacker, Thompson enters his junior season with 133 total tackles, including 14.5 for loss and six sacks, in 26 games played. He has started 16 straight contests, including all 13 games last season for the nation’s top-ranked defense. Last season, Thompson ranked second on the team in total tackles (87), tied for third in tackles for loss (9.0), added 3.5 sacks and collected a pair of interceptions. He earned second-team All-SEC honors from The Associated Press for his efforts. The Florence, Alabama, product was voted the defensive team captain for the 2019 season and is also an early candidate for the Bednarik Award, Butkus Award and the Bronko Nagurski Trophy.

Williams is a preseason All-American and the Bulldogs’ offensive team captain. He moved from left guard to center during spring drills to replace second-round draft pick and All-American Elgton Jenkins. The Outland and Rimington trophies candidate allowed only one sack, three quarterback hits and five hurries for just nine total pressures in 2018, according to Pro Football Focus. The Bessemer, Alabama, native was the No. 5 overall graded guard in the SEC by PFF last season (71.1) and had the no. 5 best pass blocking grade (82.9). Williams enters his senior year with 25 starts in 32 games played.

A preseason All-American, Dantzler ranked second in the SEC last season among corners with a 41.1 passer rating allowed, according to PFF. The Louisiana product was one of only four SEC cornerbacks that did not allowed a touchdown (min. 345 coverage snaps played). A candidate for the Jim Thorpe Award, Bednarik Award, Butkus Award and the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, Dantzler also had a pair of interceptions and led the Bulldogs in passes defended (11).

Hill, a candidate for the Maxwell and Doak Walker awards, rushed for 734 yards and four touchdowns on 117 attempts. The elusive, bruising running back started all 11 games he played in, and his top performance came in a road win at Kansas State, where he ran for 211 yards and accounted for three scores to earn the SEC's Offensive Player of the Week honor. The Columbus, Mississippi, native also recorded 100-yard rushing games in victories against No. 8 Auburn (126) and at Ole Miss (108). He averaged 6.3 yards per carry, which ranked sixth in the SEC.

Rivers, who steps into a starting role and has broken out as a vocal leader on defense, played in all 13 games in 2018 and had impressive numbers on one of the best defensive lines in college football. He made 24 tackles, seven tackles for loss and 2.5 sacks. The Stone Mountain, Georgia, native recorded an impressive 19 pressures across 339 snaps played, according to PFF.

State opens the 2019 season on Aug. 31 against Louisiana in New Orleans. Tickets for the 2019 season and opener can be purchased at, by calling 1-888-GO-DAWGS or in person at the MSU Athletic Ticket Office on the first floor of the Bryan Athletic Administration Building (288 Lakeview Drive), Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

2019 Preseason Coaches All-SEC Football Team (* - ties)

First Team Preseason All-SEC


TE Albert Okwuegbunam, Missouri

OL Andrew Thomas, Georgia

OL Alex Leatherwood, Alabama

OL Jedrick Wills Jr., Alabama*

OL Tre'Vour Wallace-Simms, Missouri*

OL Prince Tega Wanogho, Auburn*

C Lloyd Cushenberry, LSU

WR Jerry Jeudy, Alabama

WR Kalija Lipscomb, Vanderbilt

QB Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama

RB D'Andre Swift, Georgia

RB Najee Harris, Alabama

AP Jaylen Waddle, Alabama


DL Raekwon Davis, Alabama

DL Derrick Brown, Auburn

DL Rashard Lawrence, LSU

DL Justin Madubuike, Texas A&M

LB Dylan Moses, Alabama

LB Erroll Thompson, Mississippi State

LB Cale Garrett, Missouri

DB C.J. Henderson, Florida

DB Grant Delpit, LSU

DB J.R. Reed, Georgia

DB Trevon Diggs, Alabama*

DB Kristian Fulton, LSU*


PK Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia

P Braden Mann, Texas A&M

RS Jaylen Waddle, Alabama

Second Team Preseason All-SEC


TE Jared Pinkney, Vanderbilt

OL Damien Lewis, LSU

OL Logan Stenberg, Kentucky

OL Solomon Kindley, Georgia

OL Isaiah Wilson, Georgia

C Darryl Williams, Mississippi State

WR Henry Ruggs III, Alabama

WR Bryan Edwards, South Carolina

QB Jake Fromm, Georgia

RB Ke'Shawn Vaughn, Vanderbilt

RB Lamical Perine, Florida

AP Lynn Bowden, Kentucky


DL Jabari Zuniga, Florida

DL Marlon Davidson, Auburn

Dl Javon Kinlaw, South Carolina

DL Nick Coe, Auburn

LB Anfernee Jennings, Alabama

LB De'Jon Harris, Arkansas

LB David Reese II, Florida

DB Xavier McKinney, Alabama

DB Patrick Surtain II, Alabama

DB DeMarkus Acy, Missouri

DB Cameron Dantzler, Mississippi State


PK Evan McPherson, Florida

P Tommy Townsend, Florida

RS Jashaun Corbin, Texas A&M*

Marquez Callaway, Tennessee*

Third Team Preseason All-SEC


TE Charlie Woerner, Georgia

OL Yasir Durant, Missouri

OL Ben Cleveland, Georgia

OL Matt Womack, Alabama

OL Marquel Harrell, Auburn*

OL Mike Horton, Auburn*

C Drake Jackson, Kentucky

WR Jaylen Waddle, Alabama

WR Lynn Bowden, Kentucky*

WR Justin Jefferson, LSU*

QB Kellen Mond, Texas A&M

RB Larry Rountree, Missouri

RB Kylin Hill, Mississippi State

AP Jashaun Corbin, Texas A&M


DL McTelvin Agim, Arkansas

DL Chauncey Rivers, Mississippi State

DL Tyler Clark, Georgia

DL LaBryan Ray, Alabama*

DL Dayo Odeyingbo, Vanderbilt*

DL Jordan Elliott, Missouri*

LB Michael Divinity, LSU

LB T.J. Brunson, South Carolina*

LB Darrell Taylor, Tennessee*

LB Jacob Phillips, LSU*

DB Daniel Thomas, Auburn

DB Nigel Warrior, Tennessee

DB Shyheim Carter, Alabama

DB Kamren Curl, Arkansas*

DB Jaycee Horn, South Carolina*

DB Javaris Davis, Auburn*


PK Tucker McCann, Missouri*

PK Anders Carlson, Auburn*

P Zach Von Rosenberg, LSU

RS Lynn Bowden, Kentucky

Article Comments

Scattered Clouds
65° wxIcon
Hi: 74° Lo: 66°
Feels Like: 65°
65° wxIcon
Hi: 72° Lo: 65°
Feels Like: 65°
66° wxIcon
Hi: 70° Lo: 64°
Feels Like: 66°
Scattered Clouds
61° wxIcon
Hi: 69° Lo: 63°
Feels Like: 61°
WTVA Radar
WTVA Temperatures
WTVA Severe Weather