Diamond Dawgs to make nine national television appearances in 2018

Along with nine nationally-televised contests, 30 additional games will be available for live viewing on SEC Network+

Posted: Jan. 29, 2018 5:46 PM

STARKVILLE, Miss. (WTVA/MSU Athletics) - Following a 2017 season that exceeded national expectations, Mississippi State will have nine of its games nationally televised in 2018, the Southeastern Conference office announced Monday.

Along with nine nationally-televised contests, 30 additional games will be available for live viewing on SEC Network+, available through Watch ESPN and the Watch ESPN app. Along with 39 of MSU's 56 regular-season games being available for live viewing, all 23 home games for the Diamond Dawgs will air live.

State will open the 2018 season with 12-straight road contests, beginning with a three-game series against Southern Miss (Feb. 16-18) on the very field where MSU ended USM's 2017 season in the NCAA Hattiesburg Regional.

The national-television schedule is highlighted by the annual Governor's Cup game in Pearl, Miss. against Ole Miss, which is set for a 6 p.m. CT start on SEC Network. The only home game that will be televised will be the series finale against Texas A&M (3:30 p.m. CT on SEC Network), while the remaining seven televised contests will be road games for State.

The 2018 schedule will also feature a four-hour Bases Loaded special on the opening night of conference play, Friday, March 16. MSU's game vs. Vanderbilt that night will also be available in its entirety, streaming live via SEC Network +.

This year's schedule also includes seven wildcard selections during the final weekend of the season, allowing the network the opportunity to determine the best television matchup at a later date. The schedule closes out with SEC Network airing the entirety of the SEC Baseball Tournament, outside of the Championship game on ESPN2.

The Diamond Dawgs have so for been ranked in all five major preseason top 25 polls. MSU is ranked No. 12 by D1 Baseball, No. 13 by Collegiate Baseball, No. 15 by USA Today, No. 23 by Baseball America and No. 25 by Perfect Game.

Fans will have opportunities to meet the 2018 Diamond Dawgs prior to Opening Day at a pair of free events on MSU's campus. Fan Day is set for Sunday, Feb. 11, while Cowbell Yell will take place on Tuesday, Feb. 13.

For more information on the Diamond Dawg program, follow the program on Twitter, like them on Facebook and join them on Instagram by searching for "HailStateBB." You can also find all-access coverage of the program on SnapChat by searching for "HailStateSnap."

2018 Mississippi State Baseball Viewing Schedule (All times CT)
Tuesday, March 6 – vs. New Mexico State – 6:30 p.m. (SEC Network+)
Wednesday, March 7 – vs. New Mexico State – 6:30 p.m. (SEC Network+)
Friday, March 9 – vs. Utah Valley – 6:30 p.m. (SEC Network+)
Saturday, March 10 – vs. Utah Valley – 1 p.m. (SEC Network+)
Sunday, March 11 – vs. Utah Valley – 1 p.m. (SEC Network+)
Friday, March 16 – vs. Vanderbilt – 6:30 p.m. (SEC Network+/SEC Network)*
Saturday, March 17 – vs. Vanderbilt – 2 p.m. (SEC Network+)
Sunday, March 18 – vs. Vanderbilt – 1 p.m. (SEC Network+)
Tuesday, March 20 – vs. Alcorn State – 6:30 p.m. (SEC Network+)
Wednesday, March 21 – vs. Texas Southern – 6:30 p.m. (SEC Network+)
Friday, March 23 – at Missouri – 6:30 p.m. (SEC Network+)
Saturday, March 24 – at Missouri – 2 p.m. (SEC Network+)
Sunday, March 25 – at Missouri – 1 p.m. (SEC Network+)
Thursday, March 29 – at LSU – 7 p.m. (SEC Network)
Friday, March 30 – at LSU – 7 p.m. (SEC Network+)
Saturday, March 31 – at LSU – 2 p.m. (SEC Network+)
Wednesday, April 4 – vs. Southern – 6:30 p.m. (SEC Network+)
Friday, April 6 – vs. Ole Miss – 6:30 p.m. (SEC Network+)
Saturday, April 7 – vs. Ole Miss – 2 p.m. (SEC Network+)
Sunday, April 8 – vs. Ole Miss – 1 p.m. (SEC Network+)
Friday, April 13 – at Auburn – 7:30 p.m. (SEC Network)
Saturday, April 14 – at Auburn – 2 p.m. (SEC Network+)
Sunday, April 15 – at Auburn – 1 p.m. (SEC Network+)
Friday, April 20 – vs. Arkansas – 6:30 p.m. (SEC Network+)
Saturday, April 21 – vs. Arkansas – 6 p.m. (SEC Network+)
Sunday, April 22 – vs. Arkansas – 1 p.m. (SEC Network+)
Tuesday, April 24 – vs. Ole Miss (Pearl, Miss.) – 6 p.m. CT (SEC Network)
Friday, April 27 – vs. Texas A&M – 6:30 p.m. (SEC Network+)
Saturday, April 28 – vs. Texas A&M – 6:30 p.m. (SEC Network+)
Sunday, April 29 – vs. Texas A&M – 3:30 p.m. (SEC Network)
Friday, May 4 – at Alabama – 6 p.m. (SEC Network+)
Saturday, May 5 – at Alabama – 6 p.m. (SEC Network+)
Sunday, May 6 – at Alabama – 3 p.m. (ESPNU)
Friday, May 11 – at Kentucky – 6:30 p.m. (ESPNU)
Saturday, May 12 – at Kentucky – 4 p.m. (SEC Network)
Sunday, May 13 – at Kentucky – 2 p.m. (SEC Network)
Thursday, May 17 – vs. Florida – 6:30 p.m. (SEC Network+)
Friday, May 18 – vs. Florida – 6:30 p.m. (SEC Network+)
Sunday, May 19 – vs. Florida – 2 p.m. (SEC Network+)

* The SEC opener vs. Vanderbilt on Friday, March 16 will also be a part of SEC Network's Bases Loaded Coverage, which includes whip around coverage from around the SEC

Article Comments

Tupelo
Overcast
49° wxIcon
Hi: 53° Lo: 47°
Feels Like: 46°
Columbus
Clear
45° wxIcon
Hi: 55° Lo: 46°
Feels Like: 43°
Oxford
Overcast
50° wxIcon
Hi: 52° Lo: 47°
Feels Like: 50°
Starkville
Overcast
46° wxIcon
Hi: 55° Lo: 45°
Feels Like: 44°
WTVA Radar
WTVA Temperatures
WTVA Severe Weather