What to watch tonight in PyeongChang: Vonn's debut, Rippon's last skate, USA vs. OAR men's hockey

There is a plethora of events for you to feast your eyes on in PyeongChang tonight. ...

Posted: Feb 16, 2018 11:17 PM
Updated: Feb 16, 2018 11:17 PM

There is a plethora of events for you to feast your eyes on in PyeongChang tonight.

Lindsey Vonn makes her PyeongChang debut in the super-G, an event in which she won a bronze medal in Vancouver. Adam Rippon, who's captured America's collective heart at these Games, takes to the ice in the figure skating men's free skate, along with Nathan Chen, who looks to close his Olympics on a high note. Plus, Maame Biney has one more opportunity at a short track medal in the women's 1500m.

The United States men's hockey team also returns to action when it faces the Olympic Athletes from Russia (7:10a ET / 4:10a PT, NBCSN, Stream LIVE here), in a game rife with callbacks to the 1980 "Miracle on Ice" clash. The U.S. would clinch a spot in the quarterfinals with a win or draw. The women's hockey tournament also continues with quarterfinal matchups.

Primetime on NBC

Men's figure skating concludes with tonight's free skate. After a disappointing performances in the short program, Nathan Chen will look for a better outcome in a free skate likely to be loaded with quad jumps. He is currently sitting in 17th place with a score of 82.27. Adam Rippon fared much better in his short program, scoring 87.95 to put him in seventh place. Vincent Zhou, the youngest member on Team USA, landed the first quad Lutz in his program. He is sitting in 12th place with a score of 84.53. Yuzuru Hanyu is in first place, and depending on the outcome tonight, he could be on his way to the top of the podium.

Mikaela Shiffrin will not be competing in the super-G because she did not enough time to properly prepare between events but Lindsay Vonn will be in action and is a medal contender. Vonn, who took home the bronze in this event eight years ago in Vancouver, is hopeful she will do even better this time around in PyeongChang. 

The women’s skeleton will also conclude tonight in Primetime. Jacqueline Loelling, the reigning world champion from Germany, currently leads the competition after the first two runs, while Austria's Janine Flock is just .02 seconds behind. Meanwhile, Great Britain’s Lizzy Yarnold, the defending gold medalist, sits in third.

Take a look back at this morning's women's aerials finals, where Team USA's rising star Madison Olsen attempted to turn heads in her first Olympics. She competed in a stacked field, which featured 2014 gold medalist Alla Tsuper and fellow Belarusian Hanna Huskova as well as a trio of strong Chinese skiers: Sochi silver medalist Xu Mengtao, Kong Fanyu and Zhang Xin.

Watch on TV: NBC 8p.m. ET/ 5p.m. PT
NBCOlympics.com / NBC Sports App: Stream LIVE here

Hockey

The men's tournament is truly wide open. It's anyone's game this year, as we've already seen a number of surprises early in the preliminary round: Slovakia upset pre-tournament favorite OAR, while Slovenia edged Team USA in overtime. Meanwhile, host South Korea—despite its 2-1 loss to the Czech Republic—believes it can stir things up in the tournament after a solid debut. 

The U.S has a date with the OAR at 7:10a.m. ET with pole position in Group B on the line, meaning both teams are hungry for a win. A win or draw would clinch the U.S. a spot in the quarterfinals.

Men's Preliminary Round

CAN vs. CZE Stream LIVE Here 10:10p.m. ET / 7:10p.m. PT
KOR vs. SUI Stream LIVE Here 2:40a.m. ET / 11:40p.m. PT
OAR vs. USA Stream LIVE Here 7:10a.m. ET / 4:10a.m. PT
SLO vs. SVK Stream LIVE Here 7:10a.m. ET / 4:10a.m. PT

There are two quarterfinal games in the women's hockey tournament on tonight. Start your night off with the Olympic Athletes from Russia taking on Switzerland. Talk about two polar opposite teams—OAR has lost every game in the tournament so far while the Swiss are undefeated in group play. The OAR women can't seem to find their groove in PyeongChang. The team has struggled to score, though OAR was finally able to grab a goal in its 5-1 loss to Finland.

Meanwhile, the Swiss are undefeated largely thanks to dominance between the pipes: Florence Schelling has broken the Olympic record for wins in a single tournament (9). Switzerland has been solid offensively thanks to Sara Benz and Alina Muller, who have consistenly put the puck in the net.

Women's Quarterfinals

OAR vs. SUI Stream LIVE Here 10:10p.m. ET / 7:10p.m. PT
FIN vs. SWE Stream LIVE Here 2:40a.m. ET / 11:40p.m. PT

Freestyle Skiing

With medals being given out for two events (women's ski slope and men's large hill ski jumping) and men's aerials just getting started, get your thrills (and probably spills) in with freestyle skiing. In women's ski slopestyle, Team USA's Devin Logan is back after winning silver at the 2014 Sochi Games. Maddie Voisin is another American to watch.

Women's Ski Slope Preliminary Round: Stream LIVE Here 8:00p.m. ET / 4:00p.m. PT
Women's Ski Slope Final: Stream LIVE Here 11:00p.m. ET / 8:00p.m. PT

Men's Aerials Preliminary Round: Stream LIVE Here 6:00a.m. ET / 3:00a.m. PT
Ski Jumping Men's Large Hill Final: Stream LIVE Here 7:30a.m. ET / 4:30a.m. PT

Alpine Skiing

After several postponements earlier in the week due to less-than-ideal weather conditions, Alpine skiing is finally underway. Gold medal favorite Mikaela Shiffrin will not be competiting in the women's super-G. Lindsey Vonn, who took home the bronze in Vancouver in this event, is a contender to take home another medal. Look for Switzerland's Lara Gut to be in the medal mix as well. 

Women's super-G: Stream LIVE Here 9:00p.m. ET / 6:00p.m. PT

Figure Skating

There will be medals on the line for the men as they finish up competition with the free skate. Japan's Yuzuru Hanyu fought to defend his 2014 Sochi title with a strong short program that put him in first going into the free skate. U.S. skater Adam Rippon sits in seventh with Team USA's youngest Olympian Vincent Zhou in the 12th spot. American medal hopeful Nathan Chen had an uncharacteristically disappointing skate, landing in 17th after several crucial mistakes. 

Stream LIVE Here 8:00p.m. ET / 4:00p.m. PT

Skeleton

Watch the the women's skeleton's third and fourth runs, featuring Jacqueline Loelling, Janine Flock and Lizzy Yarnold, from start to finish on NBCOlympics.com and the NBC Sports app. Stream LIVE Here 6:20a.m. ET / 3:20a.m. PT

Short Track

Catch Maame Biney in action as the women's 1500m starts this morning. After a dissapointing 500m, she is looking to rebound in this event. 

Womens 1500m and Men's 1000m Finals: Stream LIVE Here 5:00a.m. ET / 2:00a.m. PT

Curling

Spend some quality time with curling, as both the men's and women's round-robin tournaments continue. The U.S. women will take on the Olympic Athletes from Russia and then turn their attention to Canada. The Canadians, who entered the tournament as gold medal favorites, have started round robin play with three straight losses. 

Women's Round-Robin Tournament

SUI vs. SWE Stream Live Here 7:05p.m. ET / 4:05p.m. PT
OAR vs. USA Stream LIVE Here 7:05p.m. ET / 4:05p.m. PT
JPN vs. CHN Stream LIVE Here 7:05p.m. ET / 4:05p.m. PT
DEN vs. GBR Stream LIVE Here 7:05p.m. ET / 4:05p.m. PT

OAR vs. JPN Stream LIVE Here 6:05a.m. ET / 3:05a.m. PT
CHN vs. JPN Stream LIVE Here 6:05a.m. ET / 3:05a.m. PT
KOR vs. GBR Stream LIVE Here 6:05a.m. ET / 3:05a.m. PT
USA vs. CAN Stream LIVE Here 6:05a.m. ET / 3:05a.m. PT

Men's Round-Robin Tournament

KOR vs. GBR Stream LIVE Here 12:05a.m. ET / 9:05p.m. PT
SUI vs. NOR Stream LIVE Here 12:05a.m. ET / 9:05p.m. PT
JPN vs. ITA Stream LIVE Here 12:05a.m. ET / 9:05p.m. PT

Cross-Country Skiing

The U.S women will ski for their first Olympic medal. This women's team is the best the U.S. has had at the Games and will be quite the competition for medal favorites Finland and Norway.

Women's 4x5km Relay: Stream LIVE Here 4:30a.m. ET/ 1:30a.m. PT

Biathlon

Darya Domracheva will attempt to defend her 2014 gold medal in PyeongChang. 2018 has treated her well, as she won the last mass start at the Worlds on Jan. 21, edging Anastasiya Kuzmina of Slovakia and Finland's Kaisa Makararien. Team USA will have one American in the race: Susan Dunklee claimed the silver medal in Sochi four years ago and will look to improve here in PyeongChang. 

Women's 12.5km Mass Start: Stream LIVE Here 6:15a.m. ET / 3:15a.m. PT

Mississippi Coronavirus Cases

Data is updated nightly.

Cases: 259117

Reported Deaths: 5668
CountyCasesDeaths
DeSoto17331186
Hinds16373328
Harrison13731199
Rankin10854217
Jackson10557187
Lee8922141
Madison8335166
Jones6483112
Forrest6038120
Lauderdale5965187
Lowndes5425118
Lafayette503193
Lamar490865
Washington4826124
Bolivar4024109
Oktibbeha397681
Panola374680
Pontotoc369855
Monroe3591105
Warren3569100
Union348063
Marshall347769
Neshoba3413152
Pearl River3329103
Leflore3059107
Lincoln299386
Sunflower288271
Hancock282559
Tate274362
Alcorn267454
Itawamba265260
Pike264679
Scott250847
Prentiss248252
Yazoo247356
Tippah244450
Copiah243949
Coahoma242254
Simpson238368
Leake232966
Grenada220671
Covington215072
Marion215073
Adams207870
Wayne203232
Winston202667
George201939
Newton195044
Attala194659
Tishomingo191661
Chickasaw185744
Jasper174438
Holmes169168
Clay161335
Tallahatchie148235
Stone145921
Clarke141762
Calhoun137621
Smith122725
Yalobusha119134
Walthall112836
Noxubee111423
Greene111029
Montgomery110136
Carroll105321
Lawrence103217
Perry102831
Amite98826
Webster93924
Tunica87421
Claiborne86625
Jefferson Davis85827
Benton83323
Humphreys83324
Kemper78420
Quitman6969
Franklin67115
Choctaw61213
Wilkinson58825
Jefferson55419
Sharkey44017
Issaquena1596
Unassigned00

Alabama Coronavirus Cases

Cases: 429655

Reported Deaths: 6283
CountyCasesDeaths
Jefferson63040956
Mobile30794557
Madison27486201
Tuscaloosa20996268
Montgomery19352315
Shelby18833120
Baldwin16653184
Lee12749102
Morgan12389119
Etowah11861176
Calhoun11292201
Marshall10290113
Houston8746156
Limestone813276
Cullman8125106
Elmore7999104
DeKalb776599
Lauderdale768698
St. Clair7651121
Talladega6309108
Walker5954174
Jackson586341
Colbert539873
Blount537683
Autauga525755
Coffee450456
Dale402981
Franklin369948
Russell340711
Chilton338966
Covington332668
Escambia326043
Dallas308896
Chambers293170
Clarke287833
Tallapoosa2641107
Pike255230
Marion248953
Lawrence246649
Winston229535
Bibb218847
Geneva205446
Marengo202829
Pickens197531
Hale179542
Barbour176036
Fayette172928
Butler170858
Cherokee161930
Henry156523
Monroe149818
Randolph142135
Washington139126
Clay127645
Crenshaw121544
Cleburne119023
Lamar119021
Macon118637
Lowndes112036
Wilcox105121
Bullock101128
Perry99019
Conecuh95720
Sumter89626
Greene76623
Coosa61015
Choctaw51624
Out of AL00
Unassigned00
Tupelo
Mostly Cloudy
48° wxIcon
Hi: 52° Lo: 45°
Feels Like: 46°
Columbus
Cloudy
49° wxIcon
Hi: 54° Lo: 46°
Feels Like: 49°
Oxford
Mostly Cloudy
45° wxIcon
Hi: 50° Lo: 43°
Feels Like: 45°
Starkville
Cloudy
46° wxIcon
Hi: 54° Lo: 45°
Feels Like: 46°
WTVA Radar
WTVA Temperatures
WTVA Severe Weather