What to watch tonight in PyeongChang: Jacobellis, Shiffrin, Chen, Rippon in Primetime

There's a full slate of competition continuing tonight in PyeongChang, including several medals that will be given ...

Posted: Feb 15, 2018 11:16 PM
Updated: Feb 15, 2018 11:16 PM

There's a full slate of competition continuing tonight in PyeongChang, including several medals that will be given out.

Nathan Chen, Adam Rippon and Vincent Zhou will all compete in the figure skating men’s short program tonight, while Mikaela Shiffrin is back in action in the women’s slalom.

The United States men’s hockey team will also look to bounce back from its tournament opening loss when it faces Slovakia, and medals will be awarded in women’s snowboard cross.

Here's everything you need to know about tonight's Olympic action and all the ways you can watch it. 

Primetime on NBC

Tonight in Primetime, American Mikaela Shiffrin will look to double up in slalom: her bread-and-butter event. Shiffrin became the youngest-ever Olympic slalom champion with a gold medal in Sochi four years ago, and she followed that up with three consecutive world titles, making her the first woman to achieve the feat in 78 years. The 22-year-old is coming off her most successful season to date after claiming the overall World Cup title last year. Shiffrin enters the event as the heavy favorite, and she has already won gold in PyeongChang in the giant slalom.

Yun Sung-Bin is in position to win South Korea’s first medal in a sliding sport (skeleton, bobsled or luge) as he sits in first place after the first two men’s skeleton runs. He’ll go for gold tonight in Primetime. 

Women's snowboard cross kicks off with Lindsey Jacobellis—the reigning world champion and 2006 silver medalist from the U.S.—fighting for gold in her fourth Olympics. Her two biggest obstacles come in the forms of 2014 Olympic Champion Eva Samkova of the Czech Republic and France's Chloe Trespeuch. 

American Andrew Weibrecht is gunning for his third consecutive Olympic medal in super-G in PyeongChang after claiming bronze in Vancouver and silver in Sochi. Norway boasts a trio of medal threats in Kjetil Jansrud, Aksel Lund Svindal and Aleksander Aamodt Kilde. Meanwhile, if 37-year-old Austrian Hannes Reichelt can get himself on the podium, he would become the oldest Alpine skier to ever win an Olympic medal.

Watch on TV: NBC 8:00p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT
NBCOlympics.com / NBC Sports App: Stream LIVE here 8:00p.m. ET / 5:00p.m. PT

Figure Skating

Catch the men's short program tonight. Nathan Chen's path to gold won't be easy: Yuzuru Hanyu of Japan is arguably the best male figure skater the world has ever seen. He took home the gold in Sochi and is hoping to take home the same hardware here in PyeongChang. He has spent the last four years breaking every world record imaginable and will be quite the obstacle for other skaters to try and beat. 

Watch on TV in Primetime: NBCSN 8:00p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT 
NBCOlympics.com / NBC Sports App: Stream LIVE Here 8:00p.m. ET / 5:00p.m. PT

Curling

Another day, another night full of curling competition for both the men and the women. The U.S. men take on Sweden and then face Denmark in round-robin play with the U.S. women taking the day off. Canada's men's and women's teams play today, and both are the favorites for gold. However, the Canadian women have opened round robin play 0-2.  

Men's Round Robin Tournament

ITA vs. DEN Stream LIVE Here 7:05p.m. ET / 4:05p.m. PT
NOR vs. KOR Stream LIVE Here 7:05p.m. ET / 4:05p.m. PT
SWE vs. USA Stream LIVE Here 7:05p.m. ET / 4:05p.m. PT

JPN vs. SUI Stream LIVE Here 6:05a.m. ET / 3:05a.m. PT
SWE vs. GBR Stream LIVE Here 6:05a.m. ET / 3:05a.m. PT
DEN vs. USA Stream LIVE Here 6:05a.m. ET / 3:05a.m. PT
CAN vs. KOR Stream LIVE Here 6:05a.m. ET / 3:05a.m. PT

Women's Round Robin Tournament

DEN vs. CAN Stream LIVE Here 12:05a.m. ET / 9:05p.m. PT
KOR vs. SUI Stream LIVE Here 12:05a.m. ET / 9:05p.m. PT
SWE vs. OAR Stream LIVE Here 12:05a.m. ET / 9:05p.m. PT

Alpine Skiing

Watch both women’s slalom and the men’s super-G in their entirety on NBCOlympics.com and the NBC Sports app.  

Women’s slalom, run 1: Stream LIVE Here at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT
Women’s slalom, run 2: Stream LIVE Here at 11:15 p.m. ET / 8:15 p.m. PT

Men’s super-G: Stream LIVE Here at 9 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. PT 

Skeleton

Kendal Wesenberg will make her Olympic debut tonight in the first two runs of the women's event. The Americans are in the mix for a medal but expect to see competition from some international opponents. Lizzy Yarnold won the gold medal in Sochi four years ago and is looking to be come the first British athlete to successfully defend her title. Germany's Jacqueline Lolling is also a threat in the competition: She won four of the seven World Cup events this past season. Nigeria's Simidele Adeagbo will be the first African woman to compete in an Olympic skeleton event. 

Women's Runs 1-2: Stream LIVE Here 6:20a.m. ET / 3:20a.m. PT

Watch the third and fourth runs of men's skelton, featuring Yun Sung-Bin's attempt at gold, from start to finish on NBCOlympics.com and the NBC Sports app. Stream LIVE Here 7:30p.m. ET / 4:30p.m. PT

Snowboarding

Watch both rounds of the women's snowboard cross from start to finish on NBCOlympics.com and the NBC Sports app.

Women's Qualifying Runs: Stream LIVE Here 8:00p.m. ET / 5:00p.m. PT
Women's Snowboard Cross Elimination Round: Stream LIVE Here 10:15p.m. ET / 8:15p.m. PT

Freestyle Skiing

It's been 20 years since the U.S women have landed themselves a spot on the podium in aerials. Nikki Stone's gold medal in 1998 is the only medal the United States has in this event. Kiley McKinnon and Madison Olsen have the best chance to snap this drought. The gold medal favorite is China's Xu Mengtao, who won the silver medal in Sochi. 

Women's Aerials Final: Stream LIVE Here 7:10a.m. ET / 4:10a.m. PT
Ski Jumping Men Large Hill Qualifying: Stream LIVE Here 7:30a.m. ET / 4:30a.m. PT

Speed Skating

A medal will also be given out in the Women's 5000m race tonight. The whole 2014 Sochi Games podium is back, with Martina Sablikova of the Czech Republic fighting to defend her Olympic title, which she has held since the 2010 Vancouver Games. Ireen Wuest of the Netherlands is coming off of a gold in the 1500m and a silver in the 3000m. She could grab the gold from Sablikova. Americans Carlijn Schoutens and Mia Manganello will also be competing. 

Women's 5000m: Stream LIVE Here 6:00a.m. ET / 3:00a.m. PT

Cross-Country Skiing

A medal will be given out tonight in the men's 15k individual run. Andrew Musgrave is looking to make history tonight. He could be the first athlete from Great Britian to make the podium.

Men's 15km Individual: Stream LIVE Here 1:00a.m. ET / 10:00p.m. PT

Hockey

Men's hockey is in full swing with the U.S. taking on Slovakia, still fresh off its upset over the Olympic Athletes from Russia. Team USA is not a tournament favorite, but members of the team have shared comparisons between this Olympics and the 1980 "Miracle on Ice" squad that upset the Soviet Union for the gold. 

Men's Tournament

USA vs. SVK Stream LIVE Here 10:10p.m. ET / 7:10p.m. PT
OAR vs. SLO Stream LIVE Here 2:40a.m. ET / 11:40p.m. PT
FIN vs. NOR Stream LIVE Here 7:10a.m. ET / 4:10a.m. PT
SWE vs. GER Stream LIVE Here 7:10a.m. ET / 4:10a.m. PT

Mississippi Coronavirus Cases

Data is updated nightly.

Cases: 259117

Reported Deaths: 5668
CountyCasesDeaths
DeSoto17436187
Hinds16524328
Harrison13876199
Rankin11000217
Jackson10652187
Lee8981141
Madison8413168
Jones6552112
Forrest6101121
Lauderdale6034189
Lowndes5463119
Lafayette507393
Lamar496465
Washington4877124
Bolivar4068109
Oktibbeha401681
Panola378380
Pontotoc372155
Monroe3628105
Warren3619101
Union350563
Marshall349569
Neshoba3433152
Pearl River3380104
Leflore3079108
Lincoln300687
Sunflower289272
Hancock285360
Tate276762
Alcorn268854
Pike266580
Itawamba266261
Scott253448
Yazoo250156
Prentiss249552
Tippah245850
Copiah244549
Coahoma243654
Simpson240069
Leake234367
Grenada221171
Marion218473
Covington216972
Adams210170
Wayne206432
Winston205267
George202739
Attala195761
Newton195745
Tishomingo192461
Chickasaw186144
Jasper176038
Holmes169868
Clay162735
Tallahatchie154935
Stone148424
Clarke143562
Calhoun138021
Smith125825
Yalobusha120234
Walthall113437
Greene112129
Noxubee111425
Montgomery110936
Carroll105922
Lawrence104317
Perry103231
Amite99926
Webster94324
Tunica87621
Jefferson Davis87327
Claiborne86825
Benton84023
Humphreys83624
Kemper79120
Quitman7029
Franklin68716
Choctaw62313
Wilkinson58825
Jefferson55920
Sharkey44217
Issaquena1606
Unassigned00

Alabama Coronavirus Cases

Cases: 432536

Reported Deaths: 6379
CountyCasesDeaths
Jefferson63523957
Mobile30967562
Madison27627201
Tuscaloosa21122268
Montgomery19495326
Shelby18941126
Baldwin16798188
Lee12901102
Morgan12447129
Etowah11911178
Calhoun11365205
Marshall10322119
Houston8813156
Limestone823176
Cullman8159106
Elmore8056104
DeKalb7796102
Lauderdale773399
St. Clair7705122
Talladega6347109
Walker5993174
Jackson590341
Colbert543274
Blount541186
Autauga527061
Coffee454160
Dale405482
Franklin371948
Russell345712
Chilton340972
Covington334168
Escambia328344
Dallas310196
Chambers297370
Clarke290536
Tallapoosa2665107
Pike258830
Marion250155
Lawrence249150
Winston231442
Bibb219848
Geneva206946
Marengo205229
Pickens198631
Hale180842
Barbour177836
Fayette174528
Butler171358
Cherokee162530
Henry157523
Monroe150718
Randolph143236
Washington139527
Clay128546
Crenshaw121644
Cleburne119724
Lamar119621
Macon119637
Lowndes112536
Wilcox105822
Bullock101428
Perry99118
Conecuh96320
Sumter89726
Greene76723
Coosa62215
Choctaw51624
Out of AL00
Unassigned00
Tupelo
Partly Cloudy
32° wxIcon
Hi: 56° Lo: 34°
Feels Like: 25°
Columbus
Partly Cloudy
36° wxIcon
Hi: 57° Lo: 38°
Feels Like: 30°
Oxford
Clear
32° wxIcon
Hi: 53° Lo: 32°
Feels Like: 27°
Starkville
Mostly Cloudy
37° wxIcon
Hi: 53° Lo: 38°
Feels Like: 34°
WTVA Radar
WTVA Temperatures
WTVA Severe Weather