What to watch tonight in PyeongChang: Shaun White, Mikaela Shiffrin go for gold

The 2018 Winter Olympic Games continue tonight with a full schedule of events in PyeongChang. Shaun White and...

Posted: Feb 14, 2018 1:24 AM
Updated: Feb 14, 2018 1:24 AM

The 2018 Winter Olympic Games continue tonight with a full schedule of events in PyeongChang.

Shaun White and Mikaela Shiffrin will go for gold in the men’s snowboarding halfpipe and women’s slalom, respectively, while the figure skating pairs short program begins.

Adding to the drama -- if either White or Shiffrin wins gold, they'll be capturing the 100th all-time Winter Olympic gold medal for the United States.

The men’s and women’s curling tournaments are also set to get underway with round robin play, and the U.S. men's hockey team plays its first game of the 2018 Winter Games. 

Check out all of the events on tonight’s Olympic schedule below:

Primetime on NBC

All eyes will be on alpine skiing, snowboarding and figure skating tonight. First up is the women's slalom, where Team USA’s Mikaela Shiffrin will make her PyeongChang debut chasing the first of a possible five medals for her at these Games. The 22-year-old is the first woman to win three consecutive world slalom titles in 78 years. Sandwiched between the two slalom runs will be the men's snowboarding halfpipe final, where Shaun White, who topped the qualifying standings, is set up for a thrilling battle with Japan's Ayumu Hirano and Australia's Scotty James as he tries to capture the medal that eluded him in Sochi.

The pairs short program kicks off in figure skating as well. After helping the U.S. to a bronze in the team event, Alexa Scimeca Knierim and Chris Knierim will represent Team USA in the pairs competition. Top international teams vying for a medal include China’s Sui Wenjing and Han Cong. The pair bounced back from a set of injuries last season to go on and win the world title.  Pairs from Russia and the former Soviet Union have won gold at 13 of the last 14 Olympic Winter Games. Yevgenia Tarasova and Vladmir Morozov, who will be competing as a part of the Olympic Athletes from Russia, could continue that trend. 

Watch on TV: NBC, 8:00p.m. ET / 5:00p.m. PT 
NBCSports.com/ NBC Sports app: Stream LIVE here

​Curling

The mixed doubles tournament has concluded, but there's still a lot of curling to be played in PyeongChang. Curling fans can now turn their attention to the men's and women's tournament. The United States opens the tournament with a match against South Korea at 7:05 p.m. ET. Canada also takes on Italy at that time. 

DEN vs. SWE, Stream LIVE Here 7:05p.m. ET / 4:05p.m. PT
CAN vs. ITA, Stream LIVE Here 7:05p.m. ET / 4:05p.m. PT
KOR vs. USA, Stream LIVE Here 7:05p.m. ET / 4:05p.m. PT
SUI vs. GBR. Stream LIVE Here 7:05p.m. ET / 4:05p.m. PT

CAN vs. GBR, Stream LIVE Here 6:05a.m. ET / 3:05a.m. PT
KOR vs. SWE, Stream LIVE Here 6:05a.m. ET / 3:05a.m. PT
SUI vs. ITA, Stream LIVE Here 6:05a.m. ET / 3:05a.m. PT
NOR vs. JPN, Stream LIVE Here 6:05a.m. ET / 3:05a.m. PT

The women's round robin tournament begins with four matches tonight. Japan takes on the USA at 12:05 a.m. ET. 

JPN vs. USA, Stream LIVE Here 12:05a.m. ET / 9:05p.m. PT
OAR vs. GBR, Stream LIVE Here 12:05a.m. ET / 9:05p.m. PT
DEN vs. SWE. Stream LIVE Here 12:05a.m. ET / 9:05p.m. PT
SUI vs. CHN Stream LIVE Here 12:05a.m. ET / 9:05p.m. PT

Alpine Skiing

Team USA's 22 year old standout Mikaela Shiffrin is the heavy favorite to take home gold in the women's slalom . 

Women's Slalom 1: Watch Here 8:15p.m. ET / 5:15p.m. PT
Women's Slalom 2: Watch Here 11:45p.m. ET / 8:45p.m. PT

Snowboarding

The Men's halfpipe final is tonight. Shaun White is back and looking better than ever. He scored an impressive 98.50 in the qualifiying round. 

The 12 riders below are advancing to the final.

1. Shaun White (USA), 98.50
2. Scotty James (AUS), 96.75
3. Ayumu Hirano (JPN), 95.25
4. Ben Ferguson (USA), 91.00
5. Raibu Katayama (JPN), 90.75
6. Jan Scherrer (SUI), 84.00
7. Chase Josey (USA), 83.75
8. Jake Pates (USA), 82.25
9. Pat Burgener (SUI), 82.00
10. Yuto Totsuka (JPN), 80.00
11. Peetu Piiroinen (FIN), 77.50
12. Kent Callister (AUS), 77.00

Watch Here 8:30p.m. ET / 5:30p.m. PT

 

Figure Skating

The pairs short program begins in primetime. Featuring Team USA's Alexa Scimeca Knierim and Chris Knierim, Germany's Aliona Savchenko and Bruno Massot, and Yevgenia Tarasova and Vladimir Morozov from OAR just to name a few. 

Watch the pairs short program here from start to finish at 8:00p.m. ET / 5:00p.m. PT

Hockey

The women's hockey preliminary round continues with Sweden facing off against Switzerland. South Korea takes on Japan.

SWE vs. SUI, Stream LIVE Here10:10p.m. ET / 7:10p.m. PT
COR vs. JPN, Stream LIVE Here 2:40a.m. ET / 11:40p.m. PT

The men’s preliminary round begins with the new-look U.S. men's team making its Olympic debut against Slovenia. The Olympic Athletes from Russia will also face Slovakia. 

SVK vs. OAR, Stream LIVE Here 7:10a.m. ET / 4:10a.m. PT
USA vs. SLO, Stream LIVE Here 7:10a.m. ET / 4:10a.m. PT

Nordic Combined Normal Hill

Germany’s Johannes Rydzek and Eric Frenzel are two of the top contenders in the individual normal hill. Rydzek is the reigning world champion, while Frenzel is the defending gold medalist. Brothers Bryan and Taylor Fletcher are the two top Americans in this event, but both are considered long shots for medals. 

Watch LIVE Here, 3:45a.m. ET / 12:45a.m. PT

Speed Skating

Ireen Wuest will look to continue her strong start to the 2018 Winter Games. She captured her 10th Olympic medal when she earned silver in the women’s 3000m and followed with a gold in the 1500m. American Heather Bergsma finished eighth in the 1500m but should compete for a medal in the 1000m.

Women's 1000m: Watch LIVE Here, 5:00a.m. ET / 2:00a.m. PT

Biathlon

Laura Dahlmeier has dominated the women’s biathlon events so far, picking up gold medals in the 7.5km sprint and 10km pursuit. She will look for her third gold at the 2018 Winter Games in the 15km individual. American Susan Dunklee will look to rebound after she fell out of contention early in the 7.5km sprint. 

Women's 15km individual: Watch LIVE Here, 6:05a.m. ET / 3:05a.m. PT

Luge

Germany’s pair of Tobias Wendl and Tobias Arlt won gold in Sochia and will be back to defend their Olympic title, but they’ll be challenged by fellow countrymen Toni Eggert and Sascha Benecken. Matt Mortensen and Jayson Terdiman are the top U.S. team. 

Doubles: Watch LIVE Here, 6:20a.m. ET / 3:20a.m. PT

Mississippi Coronavirus Cases

Data is updated nightly.

Cases: 319704

Reported Deaths: 7369
CountyCasesDeaths
DeSoto22276267
Hinds20677421
Harrison18407317
Rankin13880282
Jackson13689248
Madison10249224
Lee10056176
Jones8464167
Forrest7827153
Lauderdale7260242
Lowndes6509150
Lamar634888
Lafayette6310121
Washington5420137
Bolivar4837133
Panola4669110
Oktibbeha466098
Pearl River4604147
Marshall4573105
Warren4440121
Pontotoc425373
Union415777
Monroe4155135
Neshoba4061179
Lincoln4008112
Hancock386687
Leflore3515125
Tate342486
Sunflower339491
Pike3369111
Alcorn325972
Scott320174
Yazoo314171
Adams307486
Itawamba305178
Copiah299966
Coahoma298784
Simpson298189
Tippah291968
Prentiss283861
Leake271974
Marion271280
Covington267283
Wayne264442
Grenada264087
George252051
Newton248663
Tishomingo231568
Winston229981
Jasper222148
Attala215073
Chickasaw210559
Holmes190374
Clay187854
Stone187833
Tallahatchie180041
Clarke178980
Calhoun174132
Yalobusha167840
Smith164034
Walthall135347
Greene131833
Lawrence131024
Montgomery128643
Noxubee128034
Perry127138
Amite126342
Carroll122330
Webster115032
Jefferson Davis108033
Tunica108027
Claiborne103130
Benton102325
Humphreys97533
Kemper96629
Franklin85023
Quitman82216
Choctaw79118
Wilkinson69532
Jefferson66228
Sharkey50917
Issaquena1696
Unassigned00

Alabama Coronavirus Cases

Cases: 548323

Reported Deaths: 11288
CountyCasesDeaths
Jefferson809531565
Mobile42066826
Madison35663525
Tuscaloosa26162458
Shelby25595254
Montgomery25081612
Baldwin21839313
Lee16265176
Calhoun14718325
Morgan14626285
Etowah14171363
Marshall12449230
Houston10764288
Elmore10295213
Limestone10182157
St. Clair10160251
Cullman9941201
Lauderdale9596249
DeKalb8967189
Talladega8458184
Walker7335280
Autauga7230113
Blount6944139
Jackson6922113
Colbert6414140
Coffee5627127
Dale4929114
Russell454941
Chilton4472116
Franklin431083
Covington4273122
Tallapoosa4136155
Escambia401780
Chambers3726124
Dallas3607156
Clarke352961
Marion3242106
Pike314078
Lawrence3129100
Winston283572
Bibb268464
Geneva257581
Marengo250665
Pickens236862
Barbour234659
Hale226878
Butler224071
Fayette218162
Henry193843
Cherokee187245
Randolph187044
Monroe179341
Washington170439
Macon162951
Clay160159
Crenshaw155657
Cleburne153244
Lamar146537
Lowndes142054
Wilcox127030
Bullock124242
Conecuh113430
Coosa111429
Perry108626
Sumter105732
Greene93534
Choctaw62025
Out of AL00
Unassigned00
Tupelo
Clear
82° wxIcon
Hi: 90° Lo: 68°
Feels Like: 84°
Columbus
Clear
84° wxIcon
Hi: 89° Lo: 65°
Feels Like: 87°
Oxford
Clear
82° wxIcon
Hi: 89° Lo: 65°
Feels Like: 83°
Starkville
Clear
81° wxIcon
Hi: 88° Lo: 63°
Feels Like: 82°
The humidity ramps up a bit more into Friday morning, and so will the heat. Temperatures will heat up a little more with heat index values climbing even more. There could be an isolated afternoon shower in spots, though most will stay dry. Rain chances increase some into the weekend as a tropical system approaches. But it now appears that many areas may dodge the heaviest rain.
WTVA Radar
WTVA Temperatures
WTVA Severe Weather