What to watch tonight in PyeongChang: Figure skating team event continues

The 2018 Olympic Winter Games continue tonight with a full slate of competition. The men’s downhill is the ...

Posted: Feb 11, 2018 12:10 AM
Updated: Feb 11, 2018 12:10 AM

The 2018 Olympic Winter Games continue tonight with a full slate of competition.

The men’s downhill is the first event on the Alpine program and will be shown live on NBC in Primetime. Part 2 of figure skating team competition will also appear on Primetime tonight.

Curling mixed doubles round-robin play is set to conclude Saturday, while Team USA will face Finland in its women’s hockey opener.

Check out all of the events on tonight’s Olympic schedule below:

Tonight in Primetime

Part 2 of the figure skating team event, featuring short dance, ladies’ short program and the pairs’ free program, will be shown live on NBC in Primetime. Canada currently leads the competition with 17 points, followed by the U.S. with 14, then Japan and the Olympic Athletes from Russia with 13 points apiece.

Nathan Chen made his Olympic debut in the team event’s first portion Thursday night, finishing in fourth place with 80.61 points in his short program. Team USA’s Bradie Tennell and ice dancers Maia and Alex Shibutani will compete in the figure skating team event tonight.

The U.S. team placed third in the team competition during the 2014 Winter Games. 

Figure Skating

Watch Part 2 of the figure skating team competition from start to finish on NBCOlympics.com and the NBC Sports app.

Stream LIVE here at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT

Hockey

Led by Hilary Knight and Brianna Decker, Team USA will open the preliminary round against Finland. The U.S. enters play as the pre-Games favorites after winning three world titles since Sochi. Canada will also face the Olympic Athletes from Russia.

FIN vs. USA, 2:40 a.m. ET / 11:40 p.m. PT: Stream LIVE here
CAN vs. OAR, 7:10 a.m. ET / 4:10 a.m. PT: Stream LIVE here

Curling

Mixed doubles round-robin play concludes tonight with four games on the schedule. Canada and the OAR have already clinched spots in the semifinals, while both Norway and Switzerland will advance to the next round with a win. 

NOR vs. CHN, 7:05 p.m. ET / 4:05 p.m. PT: Stream LIVE here
FIN vs. USA, 7:05 p.m. ET / 4:05 p.m. PT: Stream LIVE here
SUI vs. OAR, 7:05 p.m. ET / 4:05 p.m. PT: Stream LIVE here
CAN vs. KOR, 7:05 p.m. ET / 4:05 p.m. PT: Stream LIVE here

Snowboarding

Canadian Mark McMorris, who won a bronze medal in 2014, made his Olympic return Friday after suffering life-threatening injuries in a March 2017 backcountry snowboard crash. He will attempt to earn a gold medal in men’s slopestyle tonight. American Red Gerard totaled 82.55 points during his run Friday to qualify for the slopestyle final . The USA's Jamie Anderson will also begin her gold-medal defense in the women’s slopestyle qualifying.

Men’s slopestyle final, 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT: Stream LIVE here
Women’s slopestyle qualifying, 11:30 p.m. ET / 8:30 p.m. PT: Stream LIVE here

Cross-Country

Martin Johnsrud Sundby, of Norway, has won multiple overall World Cup season titles but he has yet to win an individual Olympic gold medal. He will look to change that in the men’s 30km Skiathlon final.

Men’s 30km Skiathlon final, 1:15 a.m. ET / 10:15 p.m. PT: Stream LIVE here

Speed Skating

The Netherlands Sven Kramer will become the most decorated men’s speed skater in Olympic history if he finds himself on the podium after the men’s 5000m final. He has won gold in this event in both Vancouver and Sochi.

Men’s 5000m final, 2:00 a.m. ET / 11:00 p.m. PT: Stream LIVE here

Freestyle Skiing

Canadian sisters Justine and Chloe Dufour-Lapointe return to the women’s moguls after placing first and second in that event in Sochi. Jaelin Kauf, the 21-year-old American, has had a breakout season and has a chance to finish on the podium. Australia’s Britt Cox could also compete for a gold medal.

Women’s moguls qualifying round 2, 5:30 a.m. ET / 2:30 a.m. PT: Stream LIVE here
Women’s moguls final, 7 a.m. ET / 4 a.m. PT: Stream LIVE here

Luge

Chris Mazdzer will try to win the U.S.’s first ever Olympic men’s singles medal. Mazdzer finished the first two runs in fourth place, just .001 second out of third. He will attempt to win the U.S.’s first ever luge Olympic men’s singles medal Sunday. Germany’s Felix Loch currently holds a 0.188-second lead over David Gleirscher of Austria.

Men’s singles runs 3-4, 6:00 a.m. ET / 3:00 a.m. PT: Stream LIVE here

Biathlon

Germany’s Benedikt Doll, Norway’s Johannes Thinges Bo and France’s Martin Fourcade all have a chance at gold in the 10km sprint, while Tim Burke and Lowell Bailey will look to earn Team USA its first ever biathlon medal. Einar Bjorndalen, who won this event at the Olympics in 2014, will not compete in PyeongChang after being left off of Norway’s biathlon team.

Men’s 10km sprint final 6:15 a.m. ET / 3:15 a.m. PT: Stream LIVE here

Mississippi Coronavirus Cases

Data is updated nightly.

Cases: 314710

Reported Deaths: 7254
CountyCasesDeaths
DeSoto21646260
Hinds20369416
Harrison17949309
Rankin13643278
Jackson13450246
Madison10113217
Lee9986174
Jones8384163
Forrest7689152
Lauderdale7198240
Lowndes6403148
Lamar623686
Lafayette6203119
Washington5341134
Bolivar4802132
Oktibbeha462998
Panola4596107
Pearl River4519146
Marshall4450103
Warren4393121
Pontotoc420872
Monroe4115133
Union411176
Neshoba4031176
Lincoln3969110
Hancock379586
Leflore3498125
Sunflower336290
Tate334784
Pike3327105
Scott316274
Alcorn313368
Yazoo311770
Itawamba300577
Copiah297465
Coahoma295579
Simpson295388
Tippah288768
Adams286982
Prentiss280060
Marion269380
Leake268473
Wayne262841
Grenada261587
Covington259881
George248148
Newton246862
Winston227581
Tishomingo227067
Jasper221148
Attala214473
Chickasaw208057
Holmes189174
Clay185554
Stone182833
Tallahatchie178941
Clarke178080
Calhoun170932
Yalobusha164638
Smith162534
Walthall134245
Greene130633
Lawrence128724
Montgomery127142
Noxubee126734
Perry126338
Amite123142
Carroll121829
Webster114532
Jefferson Davis107133
Tunica105726
Claiborne102430
Benton100025
Humphreys96733
Kemper95828
Franklin83923
Quitman81116
Choctaw76418
Wilkinson67531
Jefferson65728
Sharkey50217
Issaquena1686
Unassigned00

Alabama Coronavirus Cases

Cases: 540083

Reported Deaths: 11038
CountyCasesDeaths
Jefferson798481529
Mobile41283809
Madison35157506
Tuscaloosa25925455
Shelby25302249
Montgomery24723593
Baldwin21411310
Lee15993172
Calhoun14574319
Morgan14425280
Etowah13925353
Marshall12280225
Houston10648282
Elmore10158206
Limestone10070151
St. Clair9948245
Cullman9768194
Lauderdale9460243
DeKalb8865188
Talladega8341176
Walker7261278
Autauga7005108
Jackson6840112
Blount6773139
Colbert6322135
Coffee5581118
Dale4877113
Russell445738
Chilton4373113
Franklin426382
Covington4138118
Tallapoosa4044153
Escambia394877
Chambers3596123
Dallas3569153
Clarke351561
Marion3140101
Pike312077
Lawrence303098
Winston275873
Bibb264764
Geneva254178
Marengo249865
Pickens234862
Barbour232056
Hale224078
Butler219169
Fayette212862
Henry189943
Cherokee184845
Randolph182542
Monroe178141
Washington167839
Macon161350
Clay157257
Crenshaw153557
Cleburne149641
Lamar143336
Lowndes140653
Wilcox127430
Bullock123242
Conecuh110829
Coosa109228
Perry107826
Sumter105032
Greene92634
Choctaw61024
Out of AL00
Unassigned00
Tupelo
Cloudy
78° wxIcon
Hi: 78° Lo: 63°
Feels Like: 79°
Columbus
Mostly Cloudy
80° wxIcon
Hi: 82° Lo: 62°
Feels Like: 81°
Oxford
Partly Cloudy
77° wxIcon
Hi: 77° Lo: 63°
Feels Like: 79°
Starkville
Partly Cloudy
77° wxIcon
Hi: 79° Lo: 61°
Feels Like: 79°
Humidity builds across our area through much of your Monday, importing plenty of extra cloud coverage. A few spotty showers and storms are likely, especially during the afternoon. By mid-week, we dry out and temperatures soar toward the weekend.
WTVA Radar
WTVA Temperatures
WTVA Severe Weather