Republicans pick Reeves for governor

Lt. Gov. Tate Reeves speaking to supporters after his victory in the GOP primary runoff on August 27, 2019

Lt. Gov. Tate Reeves cruised to the Republican nomination for governor in Tuesday's runoff, avoiding an upset victory from former state Supreme Court Chief Bill Waller Jr.

Posted: Aug 27, 2019 7:00 PM
Updated: Aug 28, 2019 6:48 PM

Open this link for more election results.

JACKSON, Miss. (AP/WTVA) — Lt. Gov. Tate Reeves cruised to the Republican nomination for governor in Tuesday's runoff, avoiding an upset victory from former state Supreme Court Chief Bill Waller Jr.

Tuesday's contests set the Nov. 5 general election fields in Mississippi as Republicans chose their nominees for governor and attorney general.

In the attorney general's runoff, state Treasurer Lynn Fitch held off a close challenge from longtime GOP figure Andy Taggart.

Republicans in the state's northern district chose former DeSoto County Supervisor John Caldwell as their nominee for transportation commissioner, while Democrats in the state's central district chose Jackson City Councilman De'Keither Stamps as their public service commission nominee.

Voters also decided nominees in some state legislative and county races, with two local sheriffs losing in their reelection bids.

Here's a look at statewide and regional races on Mississippi ballots:


Reeves held off Waller after the two spent the three weeks leading up to the runoff jousting about the direction Mississippi Republicans should take.

Awaiting Reeves in November are Democratic nominee and Attorney General Jim Hood, Constitution Party candidate Bob Hickingbottom and independent David Singletary.

Reeves ran as the true conservative, while Waller argued Mississippi needed to spend more on roads and expand health care coverage to more people while upholding GOP principles.

The two-term lieutenant governor had just missed a majority in the Aug. 6 primary. State Rep. Robert Foster finished third and backed Waller, but Reeves was winning in DeSoto County, home to Foster and key GOP stronghold.


Two-term state treasurer Fitch defeated Taggart, who was chief of staff to Republican Gov. Kirk Fordice in the 1990s and a Madison County supervisor.

Fitch says she wants to fight opioids and human trafficking and protect vulnerable Mississippians from harm. State Rep. Taggart said he was running to fight illegal drugs after one of his sons took his own life after struggling with them. Mark Baker placed third in the three-person GOP race and endorsed Taggart.

Fitch will face Democratic nominee Jennifer Riley Collins, a military veteran and former director of the American Civil Liberties Union of Mississippi. Collins was unopposed.


Caldwell, a 58-year-old Nesbit resident, beat Oxford defense consultant Geoffrey Yoste in Tuesday's runoff in the northern district. Caldwell had made two previous unsuccessful bids for the office.

Caldwell supports increased money for maintenance but is also focused strongly on building new roads. He suggests north Mississippi isn't getting its share of the state's budget and wants an internal review before any funding increase. Caldwell says his "heart is not in a fuel tax" but an increase might be necessary.

Democrat Joey Grist, a former state lawmaker who was unopposed for his party's nomination, will face Caldwell in November. Incumbent Republican Mike Tagert isn't running again.


Stamps defeated frequent candidate Dorothy "Dot" Benford in Tuesday's runoff in Mississippi's central district.

The 42-year-old Stamps wants commission staff to work with city and county governments and school districts to save energy and cut utility bills. The retired Marine says lower utility bills would give governments more money to spend elsewhere.

It was at least the 10th run for office for the 76-year-old Benford, who ran unsuccessfully for Congress five times. She also ran unsuccessfully for Hinds County tax assessor, Jackson mayor, transportation commissioner and Jackson City Council.

Stamps raised $53,000, while Benford raised less than $1,000.

Republican Brent Bailey, who beat Nic Lott in his party's primary, will face Stamps in November's general election. Incumbent Cecil Brown, a Democrat, is retiring after one term.


Only four races were on the ballot locally, but some of them had close finishes.

Kathy Chism apparently defeated Kevin Walls to take the GOP nomination in Senate District 3, which includes Benton and Union counties and some of Pontotoc County, but there were a little more than 100 votes separating the two.

The Republican runoff for Senate District 8 was another close race with Benjamin Suber winning over Stephen Griffin after it originally appeared Griffin was the winner. Suber will face Democrat Kegan Coleman. He won the party's runoff by soundly defeating Kathryn York in the district that covers Calhoun and Chickasaw counties and parts of Lee, Pontotoc and Yalobusha counties.

Voters in House District 10, which includes some of Lafayette County, chose Brady Williamson over Kelly Morris for the Republican nomination.


Local sheriff's races had some interesting outcomes with a couple of incumbents losing in their bids for re-election.

Montgomery County Sheriff Bubba Nix lost the Democratic primary runoff to Jeff Tompkins by more than 100 votes while Yalobusha County Sheriff Lance Humphreys was defeated in the Democratic primary runoff by Luther Folson.

Other races for sheriff included a GOP runoff in Lowndes County where state narcotics agent Eddie Hawkins advanced to the November election by defeating Chief Deputy Greg Wright and David Gore, a former game warden, narrowly defeated Casey Henderson, a Eupora police officer, to advance to the general election by claiming the Democratic nomination.

Marilyn Reed and Phyllis Dye won Republican runoffs for judgeships in Lee County Justice Court.

With less than 100 votes, Kim Hood apparently defeated Barbara Spraggins in the Democratic runoff to become Clay County's new circuit clerk.

Laurie Lockett won the Democratic runoff for tax assessor/collector in Montgomery County.

Democrat Rebecca Oaks and Republican Josh McNatt are the unoffcial winners in their respective runoffs for Tishomingo County circuit clerk.

Scattered Clouds
61° wxIcon
Hi: 62° Lo: 43°
Feels Like: 61°
Few Clouds
60° wxIcon
Hi: 63° Lo: 45°
Feels Like: 60°
54° wxIcon
Hi: 55° Lo: 39°
Feels Like: 54°
Scattered Clouds
63° wxIcon
Hi: 62° Lo: 43°
Feels Like: 63°
WTVA Radar
WTVA Temperatures
WTVA Severe Weather