Apps | Mobile | Alerts

MacKinnon, Johnson, Palat named Calder finalists

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 4/23/2014 10:40 am

New York, NY ( - Colorado's Nathan MacKinnon and Tampa Bay teammates Tyler Johnson and Ondrej Palat have been named the finalists for the Calder Trophy as the NHL's top rookie.

MacKinnon led all first-year players with 63 points and 39 assists, while tying for the top spot with 24 goals. The first overall pick of the 2013 draft also had a 13-game point streak to top Wayne Gretzky's mark of 12 consecutive games with a point by a player aged 18 or younger. He will try to become the second Avalanche player to claim the award in three seasons, following 2012 winner Gabriel Landeskog.

Johnson set a Lightning rookie record with 24 goals, tying MacKinnon for the most in the NHL by a rookie this season. He also tied for the overall league lead with five short-handed goals and also scored five on the power play, joining Dennis Maruk in 1975-76 as the only rookies to reach five in each category. Signed as free agent in 2011, Johnson is the first undrafted Calder finalist since Ed Belfour took top honors for Chicago in 1991.

Palat was second among rookie scorers with 23 goals, 36 assists and 59 points, finishing three shy of Tampa Bay's rookie record of 62 points set by Brad Richards in 2000-01. He led all first-year players with a plus-32 rating and his eight-game point streak was the longest for a Lightning rookie.

Members of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association submitted ballots for the Calder Trophy at the conclusion of the regular season.

The winner will be announced Tuesday, June 24 during the NHL Awards ceremony in Las Vegas.

Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.

Copyright 2015 Mississippi TV License Company, LLC | Terms Of Use | Privacy | EEO Report | FCC Public Inspection File