Apps | Mobile | Alerts
Weather Authority Alert: Frost Advisory expires at 9:00 AM on 4/17, issued at 2:29 PM Belmont, MS | Burnsville, MS | Corinth, MS | Dennis, MS

Ole Miss' Turner wins Bench Award

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 6/27/2013 10:17 pm
WICHITA, Kan. (WTVA) - Ole Miss catcher Stuart Turner won the Johnny Bench Award as the nation's best catcher on Thursday night.

Turner is the second SEC player in a row to win the award, after Florida's Mike Zunino (now of the Seattle Mariners) won the award in 2012.

Turner hit .374 in 2013, his first year at Ole Miss. He led the Rebels in batting average, hits (83), doubles (15) and RBI (51) and tied for the lead in home runs (5).

The Johnny Bench Award was given out at the 16th Annual Greater Wichita Sports Banquet. Turner was one of three finalists brought to Wichita for the event, along with Zane Evans of Georgia Tech and New Mexico's Mitchell Garver.

Perhaps his most impressive stat, 21 of 41 would-be base stealers were thrown out by Turner. That 51% rate led the SEC.

Turner was drafted by Minnesota in the third round of the 2013 MLB Draft, 78th overall, and signed with the Twins shortly after the Ole Miss Rebels' season ended.

The award has been given out since 2000, and five of the 14 winners have come from the Southeastern Conference. Mississippi State's Ed Easley previously won the award in 2007.
Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.

Copyright © 2009–2014 WTVA Inc. | Terms Of Use | Privacy | EEO Report | FCC Public Inspection File