Police in Columbus ask for help in finding missing autistic man Full Story

EMCC wins fourth NJCAA National Championship

The Lions beat Arizona Western, 31-28.

Posted: Dec. 3, 2017 11:37 PM
Updated: Dec. 3, 2017 11:42 PM

Perkinston, Miss. (WTVA/NJCAA) - East Mississippi outlasted Arizona Western 31-28 to capture the 2017 NJCAA National Championship in the Mississippi Bowl. The title is the fourth for the No. 1 ranked Lions all since 2011.

Scroll for more content...

Arizona Western, playing in its second consecutive NJCAA title game battled back from a 28-14 deficit to bring the game within three after Bryce Perkins tossed a touchdown to Dominick Anderson, his second of the game with 1:54 to play.

East Mississippi recovered the ensuing onside kick and managed the clock to secure their first title since 2014.

East Mississippi’s Lindsey Scott Jr. was tabbed Offensive MVP and was also named the Mississippi Bowl Committee Player of the Year following the win. Ty’Ree Evans was named Defensive MVP for the Lions.

Article Comments