Apps | Mobile | Alerts
Weather Authority Alert: Freeze Warning expires at 6:00 AM on 3/28, issued at 6:00 AM Franklin

Governor declares State of Emergency in Two North Mississippi counties

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 4/09/2014 10:00 am
JACKSON, Miss. (WTVA) — Governor Phil Bryant has declared a state of emergency in 12 Mississippi counties, including Chickasaw and Noxubee counties in North Mississippi.

The state of emergency stems from storms and flooding that ripped through the state, beginning April 3.

Other counties include Covington, Hinds, Holmes, Jones, Kemper, Marion, Neshoba, Newton, Simpson and Yazoo.

"High water remains in many areas and could continue to rise if we see additional rainfall," Gov. Bryant said. "MEMA and other state agencies are workign to assist these counties and residents that have been impacted, and this state of emergency declaration will allow the use of additonal tools and resources as we respond to this weather event."

The Mississippi Emergency Management Agency has activated the State Emergency Operations Center to coordinate response to flooding and severe weather.
Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.

Copyright 2015 Mississippi TV License Company, LLC | Terms Of Use | Privacy | EEO Report | FCC Public Inspection File